Converting VHS-C to DVD.......help please.

smokey982

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 7, 2005
Cleveland, TN (Chattanooga Market)
I may end up having to let a pro do this. But I'm curious how difficult it would be to convert some old VHS-C and also some mini-DVI's to DVD. The only computer I have is an iMac (last years model). Does anyone know if the Mac is capable of doing this or would I have to purchase some other equipment? I don't know anything about video editing. And I really don't care about editing the tapes. I would like to make complete copies. Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPad using SatelliteGuys

It's not terribly difficult, but you will need something between the VHS-C and your mac. You need an analog/digital converter - something that will convert the analog signal coming out of the camcorder to a digital signal the mac can accept. Click here to see an example of such a device . I'm not a mac expert, but if they still have iMovie that will accept the signal from the converter via a firewire port.

The Mini-DV tapes are already digital and your DV camera should have a firewire ouput (it might be labeled ieee 1394, the technical name of firewire). It is just a matter of connecting the camera to the mac and transferring via iMovie. From there iMovie should have everything you need to create and burn the DVD. You do not need a particularly powerful PC to do this. However, the DV video will take up about 13GB per hour of footage so make sure you have some spare hard drive space.

Now the big question: Is it worth it? If you only have a few tapes to convert and no desire to take up home video editing as a hobby I suggest just paying someone to do the VHSC-to-DVD conversion as it is really cheaper than buying the conversion hardware. I think there is a company that works through Wal-Mart now that does it, though I can't speak to their quality.

Last edited: