Status
Please reply by conversation.

ckudrna

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 28, 2004
Tempe, AZ
Hi all,

As my HDTV carrer is now a week old, and I am waiting for my Directv HD box to arrive from ABT (Hughes HTL-HD), i was wondering if it was possible to get my sat input from 480i to 480P.

I have a lower end Mitsubishi, the WS-55313 (im a college student!) and want to get the best possible picture off of my Directv system and into my television.

Will the HD reciever upconvert from 480i to 480p? I know ESPN HD uses 720p, and these television does not support that format, will it be upconverted to 1080i?

I have spent the past few days going through DVE attempting to calibrate my TV as best as possible, and think i have it in good shape now for the new box to come and have to re-evalute everything.

Any settings i need to screw with to change over from 480i to 480p?

If i understand Progressive scan looks better for fast moving things, like ESPNHD?

Thanks all, this truly is a great resource.

You can tell the receiver which mode to display in by hitting the format button on the front of the receiver.

You will probably want to hook up the S-vid cable for standard definition programming. I haven't noticed on my TV, but other people say it makes SD programming look better if you don't use the HD hookups for it. Still use the HD hookups (component, DVI, RGBHV) for HD programming.

Hi Jason,

I currently have the Philips DSX5500 that i got from BB when i bought the dish a little over a week ago.

I imagine this unit cannot upconvert or change formats. Reading through the manual the only mention of formats is for regular 4:3 or widescreen 16:9 formats.

I currently have this receiver into the TV through S-Video. If i understand the HTL-HD has a DVI out on it. I belive the unit comes with a 6 foot cable for DVI? This televison has a DVI input, so i imagine that would give the best signal from the reciever to the television?