DIRT-Question about Software Programming team.

cditty

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 22, 2006
Northeast Louisiana
Since many of us are extremely frustrated with the 722K slowdown bug, I want to pose some questions. I understand if you can or can't answer.

1. How many people work on the code? Are they in teams based on receiver groups or is it one team for all receivers?

2. What is your validation & testing process?

3. Why does it take so long to fix such a severe problem. Seriously, how many resources and calls have you devoted to trouble calls? Sending out receivers to replace boxes that are not really defective? At what point would it not be wiser to just hire another programmer?

4. With the poor coding of these boxes, at what point does that team get blown up and new people brought in? I am an IT Manager and I beta a very important product that we use in our group of radio stations (the automation system). If I find a problem in it, I typically have a fix in hours. Worst case, it is a day. So I fail to understand how this problem can not be fixed.

If you can't answer these, maybe you can send this post to some of the management team that make decisions on the coding, direction, and bugfix priorities, so that they can see the frustration.

I came back to DISH for the DVR. I would have been better off keeping Xfinity. At least it works at the same speed all the time.

most likely they don't have programmers since "Echostar" builds the damned things. The issue here is that Dish doesn't communicate. Sure they're quick to tell us of the latest and greatest, quick to annouce a product they don't have full support for (BBMP) and even to announce devices and capabilities and then not back them up (sling adapter, sling extender, dish remote access both web & app, and Dish Online).