Dish and LNB for Shaw DSR 207 receiver

Glider

Original poster
Jun 18, 2013
upstate New York
I have an old Star Choice DSR 207 receiver. What would be the right generic dish size and LNB to use with this receiver? It's for a cottage in upstate New York. Where would I beable to purchase this hardware? Thanks

Technically, at that location any ~24 inch size dish with a Ku linear LNB will work.

These days you can pick up used ShawDirect dishes for next to nothing. If you don't already have a spare dish check Craigslist, Kijiji, etc. for a used 60e dish with quad LNB. Anywhere from free to $25-35.

There can be some other wrinkles though related to what actual programming you can receive. Do you currently have a ShawDirect subscription, or will you be starting a new one?

Thanks for fast reply. I have a Shaw Direct subscription. I just need the dish and LNB.
About seven years ago I had Dish Network at the cottage in upstate NY with a 20 inch dish and digital LNBF. I still have the equipment in my garage and was hoping to use them with the Shaw receiver. The reason I mention this is because I know of several Canadians in Mexico who have the old Shaw receivers but use non Shaw generic dishes and LNBs. I was hoping to do the same. You suggest a 24 inch dish with a quad LNB, do they have to be Shaw?
Thanks for your advice.

You can use different equipment, but the Dish Network equipment will not work.

In Mexico people will use larger dishes to get sufficient signal.

The easiest and best thing for you to do is get the identical dish to what you use at home.

With an identical dish, if the 207 is currently active on your account there is nothing else you have to do.

You can use a direct tv Slimline dish with either the quad or triple Shawdirect LNB. It is identical to the Shawdirect 75cm dish. All you have to do is take the screw off the bottom of the lnb and it will slide right into the arm of the Slimline. Make sure the LNB is the same as your home system.