Dish Anywhere not compatible with new mac OSSierra

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by .Andy, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. .Andy

    .Andy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA 6
    I wish I didn't update because now I can't access dish anywhere.

    Thought you should know. I wish I didn't upgrade. Anyone know a work arround?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. IsraelH@dish

    IsraelH@dish Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    What is the current version of your browser and your operating system?
     
  3. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,490
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I am using Chrome, loaded the latest Sling Player dmg and I was watching live TV on on it. Anywhere never had an issue for me straight up.
     
  4. DishSubLA

    DishSubLA SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    854
    Yeah, OP, I learned a long time ago to never upgrade out of the gate. It always "breaks" something, usually a number of things. In the early days of the forced upgrade of Windows 10, it broke a lot of stuff for a whole lot of people. That was one reason I never bothered to upgrade to Win10 because I knew it would brake at least one of my perfectly functional but older printers, and then the loss of privacy became another reason not to upgrade.

    Usually it takes a little bit of time for manufacturers or software like Dish Anywhere to catch up with newly released major OS's. While some companies may never update their software, Dish, along with other companies that must keep up, will eventually update their software. The question is how long will it be. I would suspect that Dish won't be too long in getting an upgrade out there knowing that a fair number of its users have or will upgrade their mac. My advice is to be patient. I really think it won't be too long, maybe in weeks, in having Dish Anywhere working on macOSSierra. Dish has no choice but to get an update out there ASAP.

    Thank you for letting everyone know about this. Many Mac people may wish to wait before upgrading. Let us know what happens so others can be made aware.
     
  5. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,490
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    OK, I have DishAnywhere working in Chrome and Firefox. It accesses both just fine and I can see my Hopper 3 and play live TV. Safari 10.0, on the other hand just goes to refreshing forever. So, Safari has an issue...
     
  6. kwindrem

    kwindrem SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    127
    Safari 10.0 works fine for me but that's on El Capitan (Mac OS 10.11).
     
  7. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,490
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Yeah it worked fine when it was on El Capitan just before I loaded Sierra.
     
  8. .Andy

    .Andy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA 6
    I tried Safari and Firefox.
     
  9. DishSubLA

    DishSubLA SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    854
    Who else is using macOS Sierra? What can you report.
     
  10. Bob C

    Bob C New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carmel, CA
    Maybe just today, 04/28/17, Dish replaced their Dish Anywhere Player extension with an app. This was in order to comply with Apple's new security restrictions. When I launched Dish Anywhere today, I was walked through how to download and install the new Dish Player app.
     
  11. fhipper

    fhipper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm running the latest version of Mac's Sierra, 10.12.4, and I have no problems playing Dish Anywhere via the Safari web browser.
     
  12. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,490
    Likes Received:
    9,899
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I am working just fine on Sierra 10.12.4 as well. I did need to log out and then log back in though.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...