Dish Instalation help Please!

leathers97

Original poster
Feb 20, 2007
Hello all, I just wanted to say first things first, that i love your forum. Anyway im a satelite noob and need some help,

Heres the issue ive had a friend trying to help me hook up a second dish along with my Dish Network 500, the 500 has a 522 Dual dvr connected to it. Anyway the second Dish was installed in order to get HD, now my problem is that for some reason i cant seem to get Satellite 129 on my new VIP 211 HD reciever. Now our tester outside shows that we have a good signal strength, but when we do a signal test inside, there is absolutely no signal. Now basically im not sure if ive given enogh info in order to recieve help, but if not ill glady give anymor info if im able.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Does the 522 get 129? I'm assuming that the second D500 is connected to the first D500 and then the 2 runs go to the receivers.

You could clear the switch matrix, disconnect the satellite feed and run check switch. Connect the satellite feed and run check switch again.

Thanks

I appreciate your fast response, Unfortunately that didnt work.:( I f ya have any other suggestions, Id really appreciate them.

I was wonder if a splice in one of the coax cables could be causing there to be no signal?

Ok, to the best of my knowledge, the two dishes are connected via a coax cable that runs from the dish 500, to another dish with a dual lnb. and then theres a coax cable that runs int the back of the vip 211 reciever. Im not sure if this makes a differnce, but im also using a hdmi cable. I hope that gives you enough info, Im just not real knowledgable when it comes to this stuff. I really appreciate the help though.