Dish installer says satellite cannot be installed.

wateringthebush

Original poster
Apr 20, 2005
For reference, I live in Little Rock, AR. Zip: 72204

To start off, I am completely new to any type of satellite TV, and was really looking forward to getting Dish. I had an installation scheduled for today. I purchased the package through VMC Satellite online, and then called Dish to setup my package, and the installation, etc. The guy came out today and when he knocked on the door, said he could already tell the install probably would not be able to be done due to trees.

He went ahead and surveyed a side of the house in the back almost right next to the house, and went on the roof and surveyed a small portion in the same area from the roof. He said that due to a branch hanging out from a tree in a neighbor's yard (approx. 75-100 ft away) that the install most likely would not work. If it did, there would probably be problems later on. He also said in another area of the roof that some of the limbs in our yard almost right over the area were blocking it.

I've read up on threads about the trees and limbs, and know that we could do some trimming and try that area he looked at again. But, my question is, he did not go out into the yard any and try any spots out there. Is there a reason that he may not have done this? Admittedly, we live in an area of the neighborhood that is a tiny bit of a valley, but from what I've seen in the neighborhood a few houses have theirs mounted into the yard on poles. Also, from reading up on using a homemade inclinometer, it appears an area in the backyard may be able to get a good enough line of sight to pull a decent signal.