Dish Network in Mexico City

foxy132

Original poster
Sep 1, 2010
St. Louis
Hello all, I'm moving to Mexico City soon for a couple of yrs only with my family and would definitely need american tv. I'm in desperate need of some info quick. I have a Directv triple lnb dish but with no tv(Direct tv) boxes. I was thinking about subscribing to Dish( because I like their 1 box - 2 tv receivers) with a US addy, then getting some of the newer Dish boxes, taking them down with me( not sure if everything will pass 'customs'), mounting the triple lnb dish, pointing the dish towards Kansas, then hookin up the boxes. I know i've simplified everything and I'm a newbie, but I read somewhere in the forum that this might be possible with a dual lnb but can this be done with a triple lnb? I appreciate any help regarding my specific situation.

Hi, I think you are going to need a much larger dish to get enough signal way down in Mexico. The satellites have a foot print for the con US. The signal will be very weak down there.

Maybe others can chime in on how big the dish (s) need to be,

Later, DC

Hello all, I'm moving to Mexico City soon for a couple of yrs only with my family and would definitely need american tv. I'm in desperate need of some info quick. I have a Directv triple lnb dish but with no tv(Direct tv) boxes. I was thinking about subscribing to Dish( because I like their 1 box - 2 tv receivers) with a US addy, then getting some of the newer Dish boxes, taking them down with me( not sure if everything will pass 'customs'), mounting the triple lnb dish, pointing the dish towards Kansas, then hookin up the boxes. I know i've simplified everything and I'm a newbie, but I read somewhere in the forum that this might be possible with a dual lnb but can this be done with a triple lnb? I appreciate any help regarding my specific situation.