Dish Network to FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jayd916

Original poster
Aug 1, 2013
Sacramento, CA
Hi... I currently have Dish Network and I am planning to cancel and go to FTA.. and I had a few questions and needed you guys help
{Disclaimer: Total newbie to FTA and no knowledge of satellites}

1. Since dish network is going to leave the dish installed -
  • How to I find out what satellite dish it is?
  • What satellite or satellites it is pointing to?
  • Which satellite or satellites will/can I get broadcast from withOUT climbing on the roof and try to mess or redirect the dish?

2. You know how you can control two TV's with one dish box, will I need to buy two receivers or just swap the Dish box with a FTA receiver?

3. What receiver would be the best for an easy transition? I just want the basic receivers that is easy to setup now but as I learn more about FTA I will be "Updating" it.

Any help would be great.. Thanks

Welcome to the site!
First of all, any satellites that the DISH, dish is pointing to, are no good for FTA. There is nothing in the clear(ITC) on them. Also it has circular LNBF's so you will need to change out the LNBF Ass. to a Linear one. That is if your dish is Big enough. A dish 500 say for example is just too small. So, if after all of that you are willing to proceed further, we will be glad to help you out. :)

Maybe for one or two strong transponders, but no, an 18" dish is way to small for FTA..;)

On the FTA main forum page there is a subforum labeled (something mpeg) FAQ. That used to be kept up to date and I am sure if you open that forum and click to show all 18 threads there will be a wealth of information that is mostly current - and will answer many questions that you WILL have - but do not know it yet. Almost all of us started out where you are - I was even worse off, I had never had anything but over the air (and downlink for TV station) - no FTA so you can get answers here.