Dish Pointing

strak82

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 2, 2011
Maine
Hi,

I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I'm new to all this. Recently I signed up for the America's Everything Pack with HD in northern Maine (222k receiver). I did not want the installers coming to my house as it already had a Dish 500 on it. Anyway I'm using the Dish 500 now but want to upgrade to an Eastern Arc dish (which I have but have not hooked up) to get more HD. My question is, do I need to call Dish to do anything or do I just need to install the new dish (Eastern Arc), connect it to the receiver and off I go? Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks again.

To aim a 1000.4 you probably need far more experience than you have. I suggest you call DISH and pay for the install seeing you are now an existing customer.

But assuming that he does aim it successfully, if his HD package is already activated then he doesn't need to call Dish to change the antenna configuration, just run the check switch routine on the receiver. (Actually he'll probably need to do this before he tries to aim it.)

But assuming that he does aim it successfully, if his HD package is already activated then he doesn't need to call Dish to change the antenna configuration, just run the check switch routine on the receiver. (Actually he'll probably need to do this before he tries to aim it.)

Theoretically the installer will know how to install a 1k4 correctly, but thanks for the skepticism. If you install it yourself, get someone to read signal strengths to you as you point it, don't expect to get to much higher than 40s but do your best. It won't be easy because I don't know if the receiver will give you accurate signal strengths on those sats without check-switching them in, and you have to run a check switch with no sats hooked up before running it on the 1k4. Other than that I can't help you much since I would just use one of my meters.