Don't know much

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lost In Space

Original poster
Feb 8, 2007
Hi, folks,
I am new to satellite technology. I have purchased FTA equipment real recently and can't get it working. I searched the forums here for a couple of days - the posting by Houston was most similar to my situation, tried suggestions, couldn't find answers.

Equipment:
Spitfire ASC321 KU LNBF
Hotdish75 30" Dish
Viewsat Ultra receiver
No motor

My coordinates:
Latitude = 33.7609, Longitude = -117.9904
Lat = 33 degrees, 45.7 minutes North
Long = 117 degrees, 59.4 minutes West

Mounted on bottom of roof pointing South-ish, (exactly where previous Dish network dish was).
Looking for Anik sat or anything I can get from my location.
Anik shows close to 100% signal 0% quality. This is the same for all sats on receiver list. I get signal for several, but no quality,(no picture), even after moving dish up-down-left-right and rotating LNB up to 50% clockwise or counter.
My inline meter just produces a constant beep when turned almost all the way up and never changes - maybe doesn't work with KU band?
My receiver meters work ok.
It would be nice to get just 1 sat to start with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
By the way, I received about 4 channels clearly (Echostar)with the old Dish Network dish & their LNB before switching to the bigger dish & Spitfire. I understand their Sat transmits a more powerful signal, but I should get something.
:confused:

Thanks for any help,

Anik shows close to 100% signal 0% quality. This is the same for all sats on receiver list. I get signal for several, but no quality,(no picture), even after moving dish up-down-left-right and rotating LNB up to 50% clockwise or counter.

Any sat you select should show "signal" regardless of whether you're actually pointed at it or not. Signal in this case refers to the connection between the receiver and lnbf.