dp301 switch problems i need help

medimusnnauda

Original poster
Jun 28, 2007
Hi

Ok here goes, im sattelite unsavy. This is my first time to try to install a sattelite system for myself. I currently have a pro installed dvr system in my home, i want to add a seperate system for another room. I bought a new stand alone system from a reputable sattleite retailer on the internet. Here are my problems. I have a JVC DP301 dish pro reciever, with a new card. A oval dish pro dish with the double lnb for sattelite 110 and 119. First question is do both sides of this lnb have to be hooked up? I get a good signal strength on sat 119 transponder 21, but when i do a check switch, it says no switch detected. Dish Network tells me either my lnb is bad or my box is bad. I work on a towboat so it is kinda hard for a installer to come out to look at it. They also are telling me to take it to a retailer to get them to check the inside unit. I can see channel 101 but nothing else. Does the card have to be activated for the switch to download the card programming? Ive talked to about 10 people at DISH but no one has any knowledge other than what they read off their computer screens. Please any help would be greatly appreciated.

110 and 119 should be there in the same cable. A Twin lnb will have both unless you have something else. Here is a picture:

http://rweb.echostar.com/departmental_content/TechPortal/images/tech/legacytwin.gif

You don't need to be subscribed to see both satellites when you run check switch. Does the other receiver show both satellites?

Try clearing the switch matrix on the 301. Disconnect the satellite feed and run check switch. Connect back the satellite feed and run check switch again.

that is the exact lnb i have except mine is dishpro, but the reciever wil only recognize one sattelite 110 or 119 . 119 from the elft side or 110 from right. wont see both om sameside. illtry unhookin the sat feed and running switch check

Last edited: