Ethernet hookup?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

silentgarth

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 5, 2008
Noblesville, IN
I have a question regarding VOD. As of right now my main phone line is acting up ( need to put call in to AT&T). What do I need to do to hook an ethernet cable to the back of my VIP722 so I can use the VOD feature?
I have tried taking the cable out of the back of my computer and pluging it in to the box to no avail( the cable does come out of a DSL Modem) :confused:

Please be nice I'm still a noob at this.

Thank you for your help.

P.s My DSL works just fine. Just cant get a dial tone with my regular phone.

i think that if you hook the ethernet cable to it you have to go to network setup
then diagnostics and do a test.. thats what i did with mine and it works fine
but u may not be completly correct

You need to have a traditional local area network in your home. If all you have is a broadband modem connected to one computer via ethernet or USB cable that will not work.

What you need to do is connect your broadband modem to a router with several ethernet ports on it and feed one of those ports to your computer and another to your 722. Then set the router to DHCP. Go into your DVR and set the menu to detect your broadband connection and look for the IP address that will be assigned automatically.