Finally getting close to getting FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

fedupwithcablevision590

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 26, 2007
Again I am a newbie and want to keep the system as simple and cheap as possible. I don't need HD, or even EPG. Basically a "no frills" system. I am mainly going to use it to recieve the muzak FTA channels off echostar.
I am planning on ordering a reciever by the end of this month (prob next weekend). Is it OK to go with used or refurbished recievers that I see on eBay, since they are significantly cheaper? I've seen Viewsat, Orasat, on there. Is there anything I need to stay away from?
Also is a "pizza dish" like the ones I see from Dish and Direct good?
Also is there a specific type of LNB I will need?
Am I going to need a satellite finder meter? Remember this is my 1st time using any type of satellite equip, I am setting it up myself and need clear instructions on what I need to do. As I've stated before, my budget is only about $100, hopefully I can find something.
I want to get the muzak because everything else doesn't measure up (tried sirius online...awful). Again mainly plan on using it for audio, just want decent stereo sound (anything FM quality or better) and capability to recieve the muzak channels. Don't need PVR, EPG, Dolby, any extras. So far most of the units I've seen have alot of extras, and of course for me that's a waste of money.
Anyway, concrete advice would be very much appreciated. Sorry to be a nag but I am new at this and want to make sure I get it right!:D

We talking about the music on 119º ?
I can't speak to the sound quality, 'cause I don't listen to them, but . . .

Pretty much any old 18 to 24 inch dish, reclaimed from Dish or DirecTV service can likely be made to work.
It will come equipped with it's stock circular LNB, which is exactly what you need.
I've gotten them free from dumpsters, and neighbors moving from one sat provider to the other.