Fine Tuning installation problems

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

afpdog

Original poster
Oct 30, 2008
Southwestern Ohio
Hey folks, I'm a total newbie and I admit trolling through these forums - you've saved me tons of hours and frustration already.

I've come across a problem that I can't find a solution to anywhere. So to all of you experts out there...I'd love your advice. :confused:

Here's the setup:
1m dish
DG380 motor
Invacom QPH-031 LBF
Coolsat 6000 Premium

Got my setup running, but could only get some sats (all of the Nimiq and Echostar Circular polarities) and a few of the Horizontal/Linear sats (ones. I had to move my setup to a slightly different location (about 12 feet east on my roof). btw - I don't have line of sight issues. I re-aimed my dish and got all of the Nimiq/Echostar ones, but now I can't get the earlier horizontal/linear ones AND I'm able to get a bunch of other horizontal/linear sats I couldn't get earlier.

Here's the breakdown...
Used to see, can't see now
74W
93W
97W
105W

Can see now, but couldn't before
89W
95W

Can not see some transponders (and see some others poorly) that I saw earlier
79W
107.3 W
91W

I'm stumped! I ought to be able to get all of them right? I'm sure this is a problem with either how I've got the dish aimed or my LNB is somehow mis-aligned (it's at 0 deg reference because I'm motorized (Right???)).

Many thanks in advance!!!

Sounds like you fine-tuned your dish & motor to get the easy circular birds.
But, did you go back and re-align for the linear birds?
They have a lot less tolerance for dish alignment.