FORTEC receiver questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

wantogetstarted

SatelliteGuys Family
Jul 31, 2006
Mars, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
I have read the reviews for both the FORTEC STAR LIFETIME CLASSIC NA and the FORTEC STAR Mercury II. It seems that the Classic is the one to buy. Would anyone who has experience or knows about both of these agree?

Also, this may be a really dumb question but I am assuming that if you know what transponder and stuff you want to view you don't have to blind scan for it. For example, lets say you you want to watch a feed and you know exactly where it is but you don't have it stored in your channel list. I am assuming you can go right to it without doing a blind scan.

Also, if and when a satellite would change position or a new one gets launched. I am assuming you can add those changes as well.

Forgive me, I have no experience with FTA receivers and how they work.

Thanks!

I have the classic NA and it is a good receiver (I can't speak for the mercury II), As for not blind scanning you would have to know the particulars of the channel that you want and enter it in....its not like analog where you can just surf (unfortunately) you would have to scan or enter the channels in manually (you can do both with the classic NA). You can also ad other satellites in (there are quite a few empty spaces for future growth).

hope that helps

I have read the reviews for both the FORTEC STAR LIFETIME CLASSIC NA and the FORTEC STAR Mercury II. It seems that the Classic is the one to buy. Would anyone who has experience or knows about both of these agree?
Havent worked with a Mercury but have a Classic and love it. Easy to use

Also, this may be a really dumb question
Only dumb question here is asking how to steal :D