Fortec Ultra

Status
Please reply by conversation.

FixZer

Original poster
Nov 22, 2006
Hi everyone!! I'm a total newbie to this FTA stuff so bear with me. Just got a new Fortec Lifetime Ultra out of box. Connected to tv (Channel #3) set Receiver switch to #3, plugged in and turned on with back switch. All I see is a picture (I think) scrunched up across the middle of the screen. When I press the menu button on remote the screen fills up but does the horizontal roll thing. I've read the troubleshooting part of the manual and it says nothing about this. Is this a defective receiver or is there something else I need to do to clear this up?

sounds like its set to PAL mode..and for the life of me I dont know how to change it on the Fortec

On the first screen (User Setup screen)...after the language selection if you get that, About the third down the list is "TV Type." Make that NTSC.

Hmm...maybe this will be more helpful.

HOW TO FIX A ROLLING SCREEN
that is stuck in PAL Mode

Depending on whether pressing the Menu Button takes you to the
language screen or not, one of these methods should get you back
into NTSC Mode.

Turn on the receiver.
Press Menu button.
Press Down button twice.
Press OK button.
Press Left or right arrow button until you get back to NTSC.
Press OK button.

If Menu Screen give you the language option:
Press "Menu."
Press "OK."
Press "Down Arrow" twice.
Press "OK."
Press "Left or Right Arrow" until you get back to NTSC.
Press "OK."

Thanks for the fast replies and Pipedream, I've tried the first option because I can't make out anything on tv and I do see movement and screen changes from color to black & white but doesn't stop rolling. Do you know how many times exactly to set on NTSC?

Sometimes on booting the Fortec will give the Language menu, sometimes not.