FTA ????'s

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Black Z

Original poster
Aug 2, 2012
Shepherdsville Ky
I am new to the fta stuff i have just recently learned about it I have looked at the channel list and it doesn't make a lot of sense so basically the only thing you can watch is local channels from around the world?

UHH NO! OH maybe -- maybe yes! Most Satellite TV is feeds to local stations. Subscription services are re-distributed copies of local stations or networks. G-19 @97W has a lot of ethnic and Christian channels that may not be feeds to stations.

Out where we are - there are few to no local stations. So, FTA is / are my local stations! Confused? I hope I did not add to the confusion

So insight is the local cable company here and if I had a dish I could pick up there programming?
The answer to that question is most likely a "NO" only a couple that they might carry you could get from a satellite.

So here is the big question can you pick up channels like fx or tbs wgn? I know my dad had a big dish when I was a kid and we had all kinds of stuff. Is that not possible anymore?

No, most of the stuff you have to pay for isn't available, but there are things you can't get from any cable service no matter what you pay.

but there are things you can't get from any cable service no matter what you pay. Like What?

Well, just starting with high definition channels... these are available for free in HD and cannot be gotten on any cable provider...:

HispanTV (it's an Iranian-run Spanish channel. It is a strange network, intended by the Iranians to act as a propaganda bridge between their country and South America).

Pentagon Channel (carried by no provider - at least not in HD)

NASA TV (carried by only one cable provider - Bright House)