Getting Started Questions

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

JerryVT

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 12, 2010
Vermont
Hopefully I did not miss a Newbie thread somewhere. I am going to purchase a FTA setup this spring and have a few questions for you old hats. I thank you in advance for any help you might give.

#1 I live in Vermont, will a 36" dish be able to pull in a strong enough KU signal this far north?

#2 How much of the southern sky do I need open, how many degrees each way off true south?

#3 I used to set up DSS systems for family and friends when they moved. I also work as an engineer and am used to running bearings with the head survey tech, and understand how to take a bearing, the 15 degree variation between actual and true north, etc. I also do all my own electrical work, network, and video installs. With that skill set should I be able to set up a system by myself, or with the help of a friend?

#4 I have been looking at the motorized dish package from Sadoun sales in OH, with the GeoSatPro DSR 200c receiver and 36" dish. Is Sadoun a good company? Is the GeoSatPro 200c a good hobbyist receiver for blind searches? I read one review on this site that seemed to be glowing.

Thanks in advance for any help or direction. I have been a long time shortwave and amateur radio listener, and this to me seems to be the equivalent with TV. It looks like a great hobby, and given the amount of time I already spent with my OTA setup tuning stations from over 100 miles away, I think it could be alot of fun!