HD help and Info Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonic

Original poster
Jun 26, 2004
Okay so im new to this stuff, so forgive me for my easy questions.

So i got my 811 reciever recently and hooked it up to my new samsung 50' dlp tv...HD service on discovery and everything looks amazing. My question was about HD service for things like the NBA, finals all football games that are not on CBS and such, WGN (i live in chicago) and stuff like that? Did i buy HD service not to get the HD stuff that i really wanted to watch?

Do I have to watch a separate channel if i wanted to watch HD (eg 002-1)?

Why the hell don't they just add all the OTA(5,7,32) stuff on the dish too...thats why i freaken bought this sh*t!!
Do i need to have a separate HD antenna for that stuff?

Also i would like to know if there is a way to make the channel locking quicker?

Any other tips all the people on this board would be highly appreciated..Thanks in advance.

Bobby

Welcome aboard!

Your questions are common, please scan the threads - your answers are all there, and pretty easy to find.

OTA & satellite are two separate things, and it's gonna stay that way. There's only so much bandwidth out there, and up there.

The fact that you got ANY OTA stations at all without an antenna is pretty amazing - if in fact that's what you're saying. I can't really tell from your post.

Hd

Sonic, Sounds like you were mislead like I was. Here's my story and the answers your looking for.