Help, I'm being repressed!(question for techs)

Roadwarrior

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 18, 2006
Pacific NW
Ok, I'm an installer in the Missouri area, have been for almost 2 years.
I got into this business to make money, but guess what? I'm not! True, my paychecks are a bit larger than when I was 9-5ing it, but my expenses are through the roof. Gas prices...well, you know. the cost of copper has gone up considerably since I started and my manager would have me believe that I am not to charge for wall fishing or pole mounts. My contract stated nothing about these things. My company does not reimburse us or pay us extra for any of this, yet if we refuse to do it, or try and charge the customer, we run the risk of getting fired. If we are lucky enough to keep our job, we're punished( i.e. being graced with 200 mile round trip routes, or when work is slow, no routes at all). I've spoken with older, more experienced techs about this, and they say they've never worked for so little. unfortunately there are no other installer gigs in this area. My question is, how many sub-contractors are out there and do any of you do these things for free? A pole and a bag of concrete costs me around 15 bucks, and living in the Ozarks area, I've done up to 3 pole mounts in one day. Sometimes I have to mount one for a measly service call. Now I occasionally get side jobs and make some cash for stuff like this, but I'm thinking that I should at the very least charge enough to make my money back on the pole and concrete, and should not be expected to fish a wall for free under any circumstances. Help me out if you could, let me know if I'm totally wrong in my thinking or if maybe I'm being sc***ed over, and is there anything I could do about it.

Thanks.

Also, this doesnt look like the proper forum for this either, I see alot of customer posts. Where should I go for this sort of stuff?

Last edited: