Hopper 3/Joey 4k 10/19 Update Alexa & Voice Issues

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by jayiw, Oct 19, 2018.

  1. jayiw

    jayiw Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    48
    Go the Hopper 3 & Joey 4k Updates today (dated 10/19). Alexa no longer works and is gone from the Joey 4k, not even an icon for it in settings or anywhere else. Voice remote doesn't work at all now via voice commands either. Internet connection is fine.

    I checked the Hopper 3 and Alexa no longer works on that as well but the icon is there. Maybe I have to set it up for that again.

    Anyone else with these issues?
     
    LQQK likes this.
  2. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    US
    I just tried it on my Joey 2.0 u293 and it changed the channel for me. I don't have an Alexa icon on the joey menu but I don't think I ever did.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jayiw

    jayiw Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    48
    I checked the app on my phone and both Joey4k and Hopper show linked still. I rebooted both the Hopper and Joey4k and still Alexa not working and voice via remote not working.
     
  4. jayiw

    jayiw Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    48
    Ok this is really bizarre. I checked my phone to see if Dish Anywhere works and it did. I tuned to a random channel on my phone viewing it on my phone and it worked fine. I shut it down on my phone and just for kicked I tried the voice via remote again and it worked. Checked via Alexa voice and now it works too.
     
    crodrules and LQQK like this.
  5. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    the wonders of Dish technology
     
    crodrules likes this.
  6. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    4,001
    Location:
    Michiana
    Just don't watch "Schitt's Creek" on Netflix or Alexa may activate when someone yells at Alexis...
     
    crodrules and peggy97850 like this.
  7. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,259
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I am so glad the election is over. Every time someone on the news would say the word "election" my Echo Dot would light up. (Yes, I could have changed the trigger word to something other than "Alexa" but since the Echo Dot did not actually respond to the false trigger, other than lighting up the blue ring, I figured it was not that big of a problem, but still annoying.)
     
    CyberSpock likes this.
  8. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    My wifw got used to tuning to the Game Show Network through Alexa. Now it tells her we do nto subscribe to the correct package to receive it.
     
    CyberSpock likes this.
  9. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    US
    I get the same. But if I say "Alexa change to channel 116" it will change to it.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    1,101

    The only problem is that she doesn't remember the channel number---but I guess she will have to. The only alternative is to hunt through the guide or search online.
     
  11. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    US
    It's a work around. This should be reported to (I don't know who) and needs to be fixed.

    I wonder if any other stations are reporting not subscribed in error.

    Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
     
    crodrules likes this.
  12. dvrexpander

    dvrexpander SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Near a tree
    Little bit of a bump but I'm unable to find it by searching.
    Can you turn off and on the Hopper with Alexa? I've tried but it says its not a feature. With the tie in thru HDMI from powering on the hopper it turns on my TV, Receiver for sound so if I can get it to turn the hopper on/off it would basically be a highly usable feature.
     
  13. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,259
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I use Alexa to wake up my Wally by saying "Alexa, go to DVR" (or "Alexa, go to Guide" or "Alexa, go to On Demand"). Try one of those. If you actually want to go directly to one of those screens, you may have to use the command twice. (Once to turn the receiver on, then again to get the command to actually work.)
     
  14. dvrexpander

    dvrexpander SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Near a tree
    Well if I wanted to turn the hopper off which would or should turn everything else off wouldn't "Alexa , turn off hopper or turn on hopper" work?
    Sad thing is I spent 3K on this new smart TV and the sucker doesn't have the option built in to turn it off and on either with Alexa so I'm gonna try to see if the Hopper will do it all.
     
  15. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,259
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I never had any luck with either of those. I used to be able to turn the Wally on by simply saying "Alexa, on Dish" but at some point they disabled that command. One drawback for me when that command still worked was that it would sometimes automatically tune my Wally to channel 19. I think Alexa assumed that was my favorite channel. When I first started using my Echo Dot, I usually would say "Alexa, channel 90 on Dish" to try to tune to channel 90, which had Holiday music on it at the time. At first, Alexa did not recognize that channel, and would sometimes misunderstand me and tune to channel 19 instead, which I hardly ever watch.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...