How to point a winegard Ds-2076

Status
Please reply by conversation.

eddiefox

Original poster
Aug 16, 2011
Phoenix,AZ
Hello im a directv dish network tech I was asked to install a winegard Ds-2076
As a side job but I have never even seen one before yet alone point and install one I know ill be ok installing it but pointing it is my problem this dish comes with a motor so I was thinking it might point its self but not sure,what satellite am I pointing it to and what should my settings be if I live in phoenix,AZ I also have the birdog usb plus meter,like I said before I have never installd one and dont know what my elevation or you should be can some one pleas pleas give me a step by step or point me in the right direction I am so lost and cant find any thing online regarding this I will give 50$ to who ever gives me a step by step and gets me signal

What are we installing it for?

Free to air?
Glorystar (the religious channels on 97W)?
Something else?

Ch-ching!
I suppose for a tech who installs fixed-dishes, doing motorized will be an educational experience.

Eddiefox,

There are two things that your customer may be referring to by IPTV. One is Internet Protocal TV and one is Iowa Public TV (Des Moines Iowa PBS call sign KDIN). Iowa Public TV may be available on several Ku band satellites but I think they are all encrypted. There are a good number of other FTA PBS stations on 125 W AMC 21. The Internet Protocol TV would require a subscription, I believe and I would think that they would have to access that through a DSL network and not via satellite.

RADAR