how to watch satellite on pc

honeybee1981

Original poster
Aug 22, 2006
OK, I'll try to make this as simple as possible, but I'm a total newbie and don't know the right terms for a lot of this stuff, so bear with me...
I had basic cable and had a cable going to my tv tuner card (ati tv wonder pro) in my pc. I was able to watch tv and record shows to my hard drive. That is all I want or need to do.
Now I had Dish Network installed today and asked the guy to hook it up so that the receiver in my bedroom would go to the pc and I could watch whatever is on in the bedroom on my pc. (he called it a mirror if that helps).
So he did it and if I turn on channel three on my tv thing on the pc, the dish network screen comes up but I can't change channels...well I can but I get a blue screen on everything but 3.
So my tuner card isn't recognizing the remote settings for the satellite signal.
Does this make sense?
I'm thinking I'll have to buy a new tuner card, and that's fine, but I did a search and am having a hard time finding one...
Any help is greatly appreciated and again I'm sorry if I didn't explain this very well.

your pc can only see what the satellite tuner outputs. So you will have to leave the pc tuner on channel 3 and change the channel on the satellite box or get a dvr from dish.

not only that if you buy a tuner card and use software to watch E* then it is infact hacking and very illegal... E* should make a pci card but thats a hole nother conversation...

So my tuner card isn't recognizing the remote settings for the satellite signal.
As osu1991 said, you need to "turn on the satellite receiver and tune the channel" to have just that channel sent to your PC card.