How Touchy Are These Things?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

DapOrp

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 31, 2005
Ok, I'm just getting started with this whole FTA concept, but I have yet to actually lock onto another Ku-Band satellite.

First off, I've successfully aimed and locked onto echostars, nimiq's, and DirecTV birds for a few years now.

Now I'm trying to aim a 1 meter dish (old primestar dish) at G10R, and it is not happening.. :(

With dishnetwork I know their Dish500 dishes are a huge pain because of the whole skew angle factor, with this primestar dish tho, I am not able to find anything off of the LNB that came with the dish. It is one of those older ones with the two outputs for V and H, and it does appear that water had entered the LNB at some point and did cause some corossion. I've tried to clean that up as best I can, but I really can't tell if it's still functioning or not since I can't find any satellite.

So my question is. If the receiver I'm using (a DVB PCi Card, Twinhan 102G) is able to pull a signal from a circular LNB taped onto the primestar lnb on the dish, is it a pretty good bet that since it's not getting any type of quality measurement from the primestar lnb, that that lnb is dead and un-useable?

I don't know how touchy these types of dishes are in terms of exact alignment either. I know the dishnetwork dishes, when trying to find echostar, can pretty much be turned upside down and still get workable signal. Are normal ku-band signals the same?

Any help or advice would be really appreciated!

Make sure the L.O. is set to 10750 for the KU LNBF. (11250 for the DBS/DirecTV LNBF)
KU satellites are MUCH weaker than DBS satellites so 1/8" is enough to make the difference between picture and no picture!