Status
Please reply by conversation.

cparker

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
May 8, 2007
Sanborn, NY
I'm getting new HR24s with my install. My understanding is that DECA is built in to the HR24 so I shouldn't see a separate DECA module at the receiver.

My house is wired for ethernet (I did it) and has an RJ45 at each receiver location. Will I no longer need that for the receiver? Does the HR24 "do DECA" through the coax? I'm assuming that's the case but I don't know as I have no experience with DECA. This will be a new ride for me.

I have 2 RG6-QS coming from my current E* dish location. One goes to each TV. The dish is mounted at the eaves of my attached garage. I can see by my neighbor's D* dish location/orientation that this location will work fine for the D* dish as well.

I am guessing the installer will install SWM and/or whatever they need right there where the cable enters the garage. I have power right there as well. Should I run an ethernet cable out to that location? Should I pull another RG6 and take it to where my router is? I have a DSL router connected to a 24-port gigabit switch and patch cables from the gigabit switch to my patch panel.

I've seen diagrams showing just 1 separate DECA module connected to the router when using HR24s.

I'm not overly concerned or anything. I usually try to help installers as much as I can 'cause most people probably treat 'em like crap. And if I have the cable sitting here on spools, it's no big deal for me to pull some cable before they get there (and I get to choose how it's routed and where the holes get drilled. :) )

Thoughts? Help 'em out or let them handle it?

The HR24's have built in DECA. You won't need ethernet. Make sure you ask for the Internet Connection Kit. Do not plug an ethernet cable into the HR24's, it disables the built in DECA.