If you were buying a new receiver, what kind....?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

lizzie

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Jun 12, 2007
I haven't been into sat tv, since my 4dtv receiver broke. I got a new hdtv for Christmas, and now want to get connected to FTA. My big mesh dish came lose from the dish mover, and is hanging on the pole. I want to get it fixed.

What receiver should I get to get high definition fta channels? I need something easy to deal with. I am not very good at complicated technical things. I would love to see a discussion of pros and cons of the kinds of receivers you all have. I am also interested in the new channels that are coming on board this year through free*dbs.org

Also can anyone recommend a satellite technician in Nashville TN who can get my dish back together, and hook up the new receiver?

Thanks-I know you guys are the best.

Lizzie

Last edited:
There was a number of discussions on this forum about selecting a receiver. Do you know, what sats and channels you'd like to watch in particular?

lizzie there aren't many full-time HD channels right now on fta, PBS and a NASA channel that is HD during missions. Some sports feeds are in HD, but you reallly have to scan the satellites to find those. Check out the List, top of the page for an idea of what kind of channels are on the satellites. Not trying to shoot down your dreams, but if you know what is available you'll be less likely to be disappointed. The picture quality on a lot of the channels will make you think it's HD though, compared to some of the pay/cable tv services! FTA won't replace cable for most people who like that type programming, but I haven't been unhappy with my system, more tv than I can ever watch, and no contracts, hidden fees that change every month, and no phone line required!

You all are so wonderful as I knew you would be.

I guess I don't have to have a HD receiver, since there are not many channels in HD.