INFO ON TESTING C BAND LNB

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Blue Crystal

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
I have my 10ft dish mounted but not set on a satellite yet. The LNB on the dish is and old C Band. However my receiver I bought is a Pansat 2500A digital.
Trying to decide on which LNB/LNBF to buy.
In the meantime I"m wondering, for test purposes, can I hook up the old lnb to my digital receiver and get a signal.
I looks like the ribbon wire I have has a lot more places to connect to an older receiver than my Pansat 2500.
I was wondering if it is possible to connect the coax from the LNB to the IF input on the Pansat. However, if thats possible does the single coax power the lnb, or can this be done only from an older receiver with more connections, or does the lnb get powered at all? I haven't got a V box I am trying to do it by hand, at this point.

As you can see I'm new at this, but willing to learn. (a little at a time, that is!)

Thanks

In the meantime I"m wondering, for test purposes, can I hook up the old lnb to my digital receiver and get a signal.
I looks like the ribbon wire I have has a lot more places to connect to an older receiver than my Pansat 2500.
I was wondering if it is possible to connect the coax from the LNB to the IF input on the Pansat. However, if thats possible does the single coax power the lnb, or can this be done only from an older receiver with more connections, or does the lnb get powered at all? I haven't got a V box I am trying to do it by hand, at this point.

If you are aimed at a satellite then you should get 1/2 the channels. The old LNB's had a polarity notch in them that picked up one polarity. The 3 wires coming off the blue box on the LNB normally goes to the analog box to control polarity. Since those are not hooked up its only one polarity...you can manually skew the LNB 90 degrees for the other polarity