Installing OTA with DVR 625-Help

dchay

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Nov 2, 2006
I'm relatively new to this so thanks for your help.

I am using a single DVR-625 in dual mode for 2 tv's in separate rooms. I would like to install an OTA antenna (Channel Master 4228) in my attic so that both tv's can access the antenna signal. Initially, I had planned to simply connect the antenna to the antenna input on the 625 but then only the primary tv can access the antenna signal and only when the receiver is powered off--correct? What is the best way to connect it so that I can view it from both tv's as easily as possible? Presently I don't have any switches installed. I had thought about using a splitter (2 GHz) or A/B switch box? Other ideas or suggestions?

Thank you!

Here is what I did with my 522, which is about the same as a 625.

I split the antenna coming in to 2 feeds, one for TV 1 and one for TV 2.
Plug the antenna into the antenna jack on your 625. TV 1 should now get OTA.

Take the cable coming out from TV 2 and use a "combiner". Basically a splitter backwards. The one I used (and works great) is from Channel Plus model 2512. You need a bi-directional, dc pass through combiner, 50-1000 MHz. which is what this is. Now you should have one cable coming from the output of TV2 that is Sat. going into the combiner, and one cable from your OTA going into the combiner, and one cable to your TV.

Whith this setup, I did not need an A/B switch or anything else. When the sat is off, I get perfect OTA on all the TVs hooked up to the TV 2 line.

I don't have the website, but the box has a 800 #. PM me and I'll be happy to give it to you, or try the web. Any bidirectional dc pass through combiner should work. I think it was about $3. Fred

You will need an inexpensive coax cable splitter, will you be using this ota antenna for digital or just analog tv???