Is Carbon interface not just a reskinning of the same software

AlaJoe

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 5, 2005
I am somewhat surprised at all the bugs reported in the new hopper. Is the H3 not the same hopper that we have had for years with a faster processor, more tuners and a new GUI (Graphical User Interface). How do you break software putting a new GUI on it. While I am not a programmer a new user interface just does not seem as if it should create the problem it apparently has.

It is my understanding that the Carbon user interface is actually a completely new software re-write. Also, keep in mind, the Hopper 3 has been out for 2 WEEKS, so don't expect perfection right out of the box, if you were expecting a 100% bug free experience, you should have waited a while. That being said, I have had hardly any problems since 01/30 when I installed and activated mine.

It is my understanding that the Carbon user interface is actually a completely new software re-write.

That's correct. It's pretty much all new tech from what I hear. One of the reasons why you can't have a prior type of Hopper on the same satellite connection as the new H3. The new baby brother just doesn't play friendly with his older siblings from another mother. ;)

Reactions: charlesrshell
It is my understanding that the Carbon user interface is actually a completely new software re-write. Also, keep in mind, the Hopper 3 has been out for 2 WEEKS, so don't expect perfection right out of the box, if you were expecting a 100% bug free experience, you should have waited a while. That being said, I have had hardly any problems since 01/30 when I installed and activated mine.

It seems like it, because many of the things I was used to require a completely different move now. Transferring to the EHD is just one.

One of the reasons why you can't have a prior type of Hopper on the same satellite connection as the new H3.
If the Carbon UI only existed on the Hopper 3, that might make more sense.