Is Dish ever going to 1080p for all broadcasts?

OTA Broadcast TV will never see another paradigm shift in technology that requires a major upgrade in both broadcast and receiving equipment. The reason is the OTA RF Broadcast business model won't survive the future generation's shift to internet or IP broadcasting. Local TV is ad based revenue and unless they can find another income source their business model just won't survive without public funding, i.e. another government spending drain and another cause for tax increase to keep broadcast TV alive.

As a licensed Broadcast engineer I've spent most of my life working with the technology side of TV but the money has always been there through the 20th century business model-- advertising. Today the competition for the ad dollar is just too prolific and TV execs have not been innovative at all in diversification of income. TV broadcast has resisted change ever since I can remember. While the industry successfully moved from NTSC to ATSC the business model has remained the same. Until you all can figure out a new profit center for OTA TV all this discussion of 1080p60 or 1080p24 is nothing but fantasy dreaming.

My personal experience is that when my TV production business went from analog to digital, I could see the writing on the wall so I took my company's content from Local TV broadcast channels to cable channels to now, webcasts. I kept it alive as the ad revenues shifted from one outlet to another, this dictated the change in technology. What I read in this thread is just the opposite. You all are proposing the technology dictate the change. I just don't see that happening since there is no justification for a market for the technology. The reason for this is that content trumps PQ. And quantity of content trumps quality of content ( in the majority of revenue based programming). Finally, price for content, ie. competition, is what kills quality, and delivery.