Latest 522 Issues??

Ed_Roch

Original poster
Jul 29, 2004
It seems there aren't as many posts regarding problems with the 522. Does that mean the latest patch has improved things, or are people just tired of posting issues?

Am thinking of going with Dish and wantthe 522, but all the issues I read here have scared me off. Am wondering if things are really as bad as it sounds with 522??

Does anyone have a unit that works perfect??

Ed_Roch said:
It seems there aren't as many posts regarding problems with the 522. Does that mean the latest patch has improved things, or are people just tired of posting issues?

Am thinking of going with Dish and wantthe 522, but all the issues I read here have scared me off. Am wondering if things are really as bad as it sounds with 522??

Personally I just got sick of the 522 and I am enjoying my TIVOs. :D :D :D

It seems to depend on the person.

I didn't have much experience with it prior to L2.03 (the latest release). In fact, I have NO experience prior to L2.02 (just got it Aug. 2nd).

My 522 is perfect 90% of the time.

The other 10%, though, make me wanna through it out the window.

Stuttering, freezing, audio drop outs and lack of NBR ("Name Based Recording) are the only things that bother me. I have not had any "Guide of Death" issues <<knock on wood>>, and the DVR records every timer I setup.

Ed_Roch said:

Don't you think it odd that many of the malcontents continue to monitor the Dish 522 and other Dish threads merely to come back and tell you how happy they are with TIVO and how they continue to hate Dish? Do you actually find relevant the complaints from obsessive compulsive posters in this forum, some of whom repeatedly post 6 thousand word rants, and spend hours uploading absurd and meaningless images concerning Dish and the 522? Ask yourself why TIVO users feel compelled to come back and post negative things about DISH?

TIVO and DISH are great, but so is Dish. Neither works "perfectly."