Maybe I need an installer, maybe not ...

teoteodore

Original poster
Nov 12, 2009
NJ
http://www.satelliteguys.us/c-band-satellite-discussion/193726-can-you-guys-identify-stuff.html

I'm new to satellite, as you can easily tell if you follow the link to my other forum postings.

I've concluded that, for the moment, the huge C-Band satellite system I inherited with my new home is not something I can use in its present configuration and locations. And I don't have time to fuss with it now --- maybe later, when I'm older and wiser.

However, if you look particularly at the distribution panel (photos included), you'll probably agree that there's a lot of good stuff there that can be used with DishTV if I bring that service in. The impression I get is that if I call them and have them do a clean install, that they will at best ignore all the existing technology and at worse intentionally or unintentionally destroy it.

In fact, there's a Uniden satellite on the roof and a satellite provider's receiver hooked up now that was left by the last owner (and last used in 2004). Theoretically, it would seem that if I subscribe to DishTV and get their new receiver and put it in place of the old one that everything would work. Is that something they would allow me to do, is that something they would do (if I watch over them like a hawk) or is that something I'd need a special 'private' installer to do.

Again, forgive the newbie questions.

Attachments

• Distribution Panel.jpg
    Distribution Panel.jpg
    490.4 KB · Views: 229
  • P1010002.JPG
    P1010002.JPG
    523.5 KB · Views: 211
  • P1010003.JPG
    P1010003.JPG
    336 KB · Views: 187
  • P1010004.JPG
    P1010004.JPG
    460 KB · Views: 209
  • P1010005.JPG
    P1010005.JPG
    516.2 KB · Views: 210
  • P1010006.JPG
    P1010006.JPG
    528.7 KB · Views: 195
  • P1010007.JPG
    P1010007.JPG
    224.2 KB · Views: 204
  • P1010008.JPG
    P1010008.JPG
    525.3 KB · Views: 204
Go to the right forum!