1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Mesh versus Router Home Internet System

Discussion in 'Computers and Gadgets' started by charlesrshell, Apr 25, 2019.

  1. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    533
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    That's why my caveat was there, (makes roaming more seamless), a single SSID per network, one for 2.4g and a second for 5g will still allow roaming on the network and will not confuse those devices that have issues. To tell the truth not a lot of end user devices can successfully roam from one band to another so this should really not be a problem.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  2. Cypresstree

    Cypresstree SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Cypress
    That might indeed be the case with some devices.

    However our laptops, iPads, and phones have no issue moving between our 5 access points


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys mobile app
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  3. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    533
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    And they shouldn't have a problem roaming between access points as they stay on the same SSID, the question do they stay on the same band 2.4 or 5g or do the roam between bands? The vast majority of mobile devices have no problem roaming within a band, many devices have difficulty seamlessly roaming between bands, even cell phones can have difficulty when changing bancs and cell phones are designed to do this.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  4. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,981
    Likes Received:
    2,922
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Yup!

    Had to get a $500 Netgear night hawk router and upgrade my gigabyte switch.

    Sad that people don’t see the value getting quality equipment
     
    bwexler and charlesrshell like this.
  5. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    12,320
    Likes Received:
    4,250
    Location:
    Michiana
    If you can, set up a separate SSID for your box-of-rocks IoT devices that never get updated and partition that IoT subnet to have Internet Access but restricted (or no) access to the trusted device LAN/SSID. Since few IoT devices move around freely, they can have the separate 2.4 GHz band.
     
    charlesrshell and Cheddar_Head like this.
  6. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,893
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    After watching several review videos, I don't think you can set up separate SSIDs in these Mesh systems.
     
  7. Cypresstree

    Cypresstree SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Cypress
    You should be able to - but only separating the 2.4 and the 5ghz bands.

    My unifi system has 4 ssids - separating and administering different rules for guests, IOT, children, and parents.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys mobile app
     
    charlesrshell and Foxbat like this.
  8. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,893
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    When I get my system up and running next week sometime I will post about the SSID.
     
  9. lakebum431

    lakebum431 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    15,141
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Location:
    Norris, TN
    I have 3 EERO units in a 7400 sq ft house. Works perfectly. I have one on the 2nd floor end of the house (where the cable modem is located), one on the main level in approx the middle of the house and the last one also on the main level at the other end of the house (which is right above my basement/main TV setup). I use wireless for everything. Literally not a single wired connection in the house and it runs perfectly. Have had it for about a year and have not had any issues.
     
    TheKrell, stardust3 and charlesrshell like this.
  10. stardust3

    stardust3 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    7,374
    Likes Received:
    4,182
    Location:
    .....
    Wow, 7400 sq ft. That's more like a hotel than a house. :)
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  11. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,893
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Got my new Netgear Orbi mesh system installed. She is working pretty good so far. Exterior security cameras are working much better. Cannot set up two different SSIDs in the router for 2.4 and 5 GHz. Only one SSID and it decides what is better for your device, 2.4 or 5 GHz. Attached is the latest signal test. Could not do the 2.4 GHz test because my smartphone always stays in 5 GHz mode.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Beach.
    At the price point of all the "Name Brands" I'm looking at Ubiquiti since I only need a small amount of gear due to the way it all operates. But you need to have a bit of techie savvy . . . I installed a NanoHD in the office (Pub) and it made all that difference in the world. They have the stand-a-lone mesh system for the Plug & Play, or you can go full nerd with their confusingly insanely HUGE product line . . .

    Amplifi Unboxing:

    Follow up:
     
    wa6rht and charlesrshell like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...