Home automation / Smart Home

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Bongu

FTA addict - suffering withdrawal since moving
Original poster
Oct 20, 2010
Fort Worth 'burbs
I don't see a dedicated Forum for this here and figured I am talking about gadgetry.

Is anyone here into the Smart Home thing? Wink? Hubitat? Home Seer? SmartThings? Others?

I have always been an advocate of Smart Home services and devices. I started with some X10 stuff back in the ***coff coff*** '80s. I am currently into Zigbee, Z-Wave, and WiFi control. I am way too cheap to do a Crestron system as I am a hobbyist on a limited budget.

Most of the new brand platforms are free to use once you purchase hardware.

Some platforms have switched to a monthly subscription fee and I am sure their customers are furious.

Please share your experiences and thoughts on this stuff.

Sent from my Commodore P.E.T. using the SatelliteGuys app!

I had the X10 stuff in my first house so I could control lights and appliances, but it withered and died for some reason.

I was waiting for some standard to shake out, but nothing has shown up to “Rule them All” so you either end up with two or three different systems that are good at what they do but need something like IFTTT or Amazon Alexa to tie them together, or one system that does just enough, but can’t handle the couple of outlier devices that you have.

Then, there’s the whole Internet of Things security flaws that poke holes in your ISP router and provide avenues of attack to your “secure” home network.

So far, I have not gone too far with IoT devices, and those devices I have use HomeKit for secure communications to the Mothership.