Moved to Direct TV after 8 years at Dish.

jcarr

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 10, 2004
The primary reason I switched is I have lost all confidence in Dish's ability to develop reliable equipment. I have been wanting a HD PVR since I looked at the 921 two years ago at CES. I have waited and waited and the problems just never get fixed. While watching the 921 product develop, I started learning about Direct TV and the TIVO units. It has been operational for 2 days and it works great.

I have had my trusty Dish 3200 from the beginning and the reliability of that product started to go down hill after installing a Dish 500. Check switch, power reboots, one LNB failure the like to keep it operational. It finally failed all together and I am sure it was a Dish programming screw-up and not a hardware failure that took it out of operation.

Lots of other little reasons the helped me switch:
-Total Choice plus cost less than the Dish 180. I get all the Discovery, History, DYI, O2, OLN channels and other neat channels for less money.
-One PVR charge per house not per unit.
-Outstanding TIVO search and record functions, search by name, search by actor, search by director, search by topic/sub topic, season pass recordings. Wow - is that cool.
-What looks to be a commitment to HDTV by Direct.

I know I am just one small customer, but I am a geek who influences others when it comes to selecting equipment. When the first local TV station started transmitting in HD, they somehow got my name and did an interview in my 10 seat theater. Somehow the word gets around. Word of mouth is a great way to grow or fail a business.

My advice to Dish is to accept nothing short of perfection, because that is what the customer base expects.

you are not the only one who feels this way. alot of people are jumping ship right now and you are correct in we are the ones who recommend equipment/services to other people.