Multipath Antenna Problem

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

bkushner

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 2, 2005
Audubon, NJ
I'm about 10 miles from the towers and have multipath problems where my signal goes from 100 to 65 in a split second..

Can anyone recommend a med range antenna that helps with the multipathing?

I'm not an expert, but I believe if you get a more directional antenna, it will help with the multipath problems. What antenna are you using now?

I'm about 10 miles from the towers and have multipath problems where my signal goes from 100 to 65 in a split second..

Can anyone recommend a med range antenna that helps with the multipathing?

How did you determine that the problem was caused by multipath?

Channel Master CM 4228 8-Bay Bowtie UHF Antenna

[FONT=verdana,helvetica,sans-serif] Channel Master CM 4228 8-Bay Bowtie UHF Antenna (CM4228)[/FONT]

To help with multi-path you need a more directional antenna, or try turning the antenna left or right to find a stable reflection.

The 4228 has a relatively wide beam, you might look at a RS U75-R for an inexpensive attempt, or the Antennas Direct 91XG for a more expensive solution.

Actualy the 4228 hasa realatively narrow beam. 15 degrees is what I usually see quoted for it.

If you really do have a multipath problem you need a very directional antenna. The CM4228 (and other bow-tie designs) although they are fairly directional they are not good in multipath situations. You really need to be using a yagi design. What antenna are you using at the moment?