My HH100 motor died.....I think

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Sassan, Jun 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sassan

    Sassan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Columbus
    I tried to switch satellites today, and I was getting nothing. I went outside to take a look, and I saw the orange light was not on.

    I checked all the connections and everything is tight.

    Anything else I need to check before buying a new motor? Lifetime Ultra receiver.

    If I do need a motor, what's the latest and greatest nowadays? I have been out of the game for a while. Sadoun is 10 mins from me, so I can go there, or I can order online, either way.

    Help!

    Thanks
     
  2. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    L.A., Calif.
    Just some troubleshooting thoughts:
    - can you still get a signal from the satellite you were pointed at??
    - power cycle the receiver and see what happens
    - check to see you have LNB voltage at the receiver
    - check to see you have LNB voltage at the LNB/motor/etc
    - look over the coax for animal bites, or other damage (a nail)
    - loosen and re-tighten all coax connectors

    Your receiver, grounding block, coax, LNB, OR Motor could have died, so let's find out which it was.
    Heck, maybe ya just need new batteries in your remote! - :eek: - :D
     
  3. Morbius

    Morbius SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I would go with a broken cable. Same thing happened to me. Limb fell and cracked it enough to get water in there to rust it.
     
  4. Sassan

    Sassan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Columbus
    OK, thanks for the tips. Easy enough, gotta start and see what I did.

    I may have damaged the cable cuz I was trimming grass around it and may have hit it.

    It is uncommon for these motors to die? Do they last a long time? I use mine maybe twice a month.
     
  5. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    L.A., Calif.
    Your failure description is uncommon.
    If you'd had a different problem, and different brand, I might say "occasional".
    From what I've read on the forum, you should get a long service life, if the motor is not swinging a giant dish.
    Perhaps those with the STAB HH-100 will have more personal knowledge.

    Before I'd put the blame on the motor, I'd explore all the other possibilities.
    AND, even if the motor did fail, it might be possible to repair it with a new board or other spare parts.

    You might be down, but you're a long ways from out! - :cool:
     
  6. Sassan

    Sassan Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Columbus
    DUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Jumped da gun here.


    First thing you do when something electronic does not work, power cycle it. Again, duhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.


    Fixed.

    Thx to all.
     
  7. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    L.A., Calif.
    another win for the good guys:

    All we care about here, is getting problems resolved.

    Glad yours wasn't so bad after all. - :up - :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Separate names with a comma.

More...