Need Help/Suggestions for OTA Install

JaxJeff

Original poster
Aug 23, 2004
Jacksonville, FL
Good afternoon! I am looking for some advice on installing an OTA. Currently, I have a Dish 500/3 room system with a 811 in the family room and a 522 in one of the bedrooms. I am wanting to install an OTA so I can receive my locals in HD. I've never done this before and was wondering if anyone can suggest what supplies/tools will I need and how would I hook it up? I appreciate your help in advance.

Jeff

You will need some sort of OTA (Over The Air) antenna to receive your local Digital channels. What type of antenna you will need will depend on your location, the location of the broadcast towers, the presence or absence of interfering terrain or buildings between your location and the towers, etc.

You may be able to use a small, indoor antenna or you may require a large, outdoor antenna to receive an acceptable signal. The small, indoor antennas can be set up by virtually anyone, whereas a large, outdoor antenna may require the skill of a professional installer.

I would suggest visiting the Antennaweb.org website as your first step to determining what your needs will be.

Thanks for your reply. Went to the website you mentioned and looks like I will need a "small, multi-directional antenna."

DTV Antenna
Type Call Sign Channel Network City State Live
Date Compass
Orientation Miles
From Frequency
Assignment
* yellow - uhf WTEV-DT 47.1 CBS JACKSONVILLE FL 101° 15.2 19
* yellow - vhf WTLV-DT 12.1 NBC JACKSONVILLE FL 101° 15.9 13
* yellow - uhf WJXT-DT 4.1 IND JACKSONVILLE FL 101° 15.9 42
* yellow - vhf WJXX-DT 25.1 ABC ORANGE PARK FL 101° 15.9 10
* yellow - uhf WJCT-DT 7.1 PBS JACKSONVILLE FL 100° 14.9 38
* yellow - uhf WJWB-DT 17.1 WB JACKSONVILLE FL 101° 15.3 34
* yellow - uhf WAWS-DT 30.1 FOX JACKSONVILLE FL 100° 14.9 32

If that means indoor antenna, then the easiest thing to do is get one for each receiver.