New 811 Setup with OTA

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

sdksatellite

Original poster
May 11, 2004
I just got my 811 (now on release 269) a couple weeks ago with the lease program. On Friday night I prayed that my existing antenna would provide my OTAs without any work. I got all my local analog channels fine with the antenna and much to my delight, without having to position or mess with the antenna (in my attic about 30+ miles to DC stations), all my locals came in at 80%-90%. I am new to the 811, but I am very, very happy with it so far. The only problems I have seen is that my local ABC dropped out of my guide once and I think it was because the box froze while I zipped through all of the channels in the guide (from 9400+ down to 07-01). I rescanned and it came back fine. I also have seen the low soundissue on my OTAs, but most was due to ABC because when it went to commercial I had to turn it down from 50-40. I normally watch the satellite around 35-40 and my DVDs around 30.

Anyway, just wanted to post some good news about the 811 and how easy it was to get it setup with my OTAs. :)

It is good to read some positive comments now and then.

My overall experience has been good too ... I certainly have experienced some of the common 811 bugs, but none "bug" me very much.

I agree. I got a little worried when I read so many bad things, but I mainly use my big screen in the basement for movies and now shows that are in HDTV. I also got lucky on the digital stations because I didn't have to mess around in the attic with the antenna that's been up there for years. Hopefully, I will go on being naively happy.