New Orby install

Discussion in 'Orby TV - Support Forum' started by coltonjared, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    I decided to jump on the bandwagon and picked up a orby dvr today. Planning to get a 30 or 36in dish soon but being the inpatient person that I am I went out and found two Primestar dishes. First one was laying one the ground still on the pole ready to load up but unfortunately the bottom of the dish’s was busted for the lnb arm so picked up another one that was froze to the ground that’s in perfect shape once I cleaned it up. Since I have 2 lnb to pick from I was wondering which one I should go with. Also how do I change the screw setting on it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,600
    Likes Received:
    5,425
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    So you just drove around until you found a Primestar dish just laying around? That's awesome :D
     
    TheKrell, danristheman and dishdude like this.
  3. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    The first one I happen to discover just a few days ago after making a wrong turn. The second one I found over a year ago laying next to a burn barrel at a abandon house out in the country so I figured I go check it out to see if it was even in good condition and sure enough it was.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  4. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    Here’s some pictures of the damaged dish which is sad cause from the looks of it it’s a bigger dish then the second one.
     

    Attached Files:

    danristheman likes this.
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,434
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Does Orby use voltage, signaling or stacking?
     
  6. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    96,749
    Likes Received:
    11,615
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    We it uses voltage to power the LNB however since all the transponders (both of them) use the same polarity then I am told you can use a splitter for multi room installs. (No switch needed)


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,434
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    My question was more along the lines of how does the receiver communicate to the LNB which polarity it wants (unless vertical is always the default polarity).

    I'm given to believe that there were different switching schemes employed depending on the Primestar LNB used.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  8. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    96,749
    Likes Received:
    11,615
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    It’s only one polarity so it don’t matter. :)


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    norman881 likes this.
  9. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,434
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    It is everything if the default LNB polarity is the wrong polarity (horizontal being the wrong polarity in this case).

    The TS is trying to repurpose a Primestar dish as opposed to using up a fully adjustable FTA setup. I don't think you can arbitrarily turn the Primestar LNB (though I suppose you could mount the whole antenna at 90 degrees to the Clarke Belt).
     
  10. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    maritimes
    I believe the lnb in pic 1 and 3 is single output horz/vert. Anyway. you would loosen the screws between lnb and feedhorn to adjust skew. Don;t see a big deal here as is your concern.

    Catamount
     
  11. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    The one lnb just has I single output so it has the internal switch where as the second lnb has two output but there’s no marking saying H or V so I’m not sure if it’s a duel output or the older H/V setup that needs a switch. Got my pole set in a bucket right now curing in my basement with a fireplace going to get it nice a warm down here. Since this dish is temporary setup I wasn’t going to put a pole in the ground or try to dig in the frozen ground
     

    Attached Files:

  12. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    maritimes
    I have never seen either of those lnb' s personally, , but some of the older ones had two outputs. One for horz and one for vert. Probably you would need a switch for regular fta but not orby, since only one polarity.
    Just have to test
     
    KE4EST and comfortably_numb like this.
  13. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    22,749
    Likes Received:
    14,339
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    :confused: Don't y'all mean to say "polarization", rather than "polarity"? Plus here's one I really don't understand. If they are using two transponders, wouldn't you need to stack those bands a la DishPro even though they use only one polarization?
     
  14. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    570
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    maritimes

    Dishpro and shaw direct used stacked lnb's. The verticals were not stacked. Only the horizontals.

    Catamount
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  15. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    If this isn’t the definition of impatient I don’t know what is lol. If I’m reading dish pointers site right for 117w my elevation is 36.1 and my lnb skew 31.9 so on my lnb would that be the .30+ side or the .30- side of it?
     

    Attached Files:

    cee likes this.
  16. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,131
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    If you are FACING the dish looking at it, you would turn the lnb COUNTER-clockwise to that setting, since that sat is WEST of your true south. That is, if you are really in Indiana.
     
    coltonjared likes this.
  17. coltonjared

    coltonjared Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Fort Branch IN
    Got the dish setup but still not getting a lock. Dumb question do I need to subscribe first before the box will allow a lock on? Tried switching out the lnb and still nothing.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,184
    Likes Received:
    4,506
    Location:
    EM75xb
    No. You make be off just a bit, or you may need to rotate your LNBF by 90 deg(if you are off on polarization).
    ...or your LNBF may be bad.
     
    coltonjared, cee and primestar31 like this.
  19. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,131
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Don't you have another FTA receiver for your old c-band dish project you could aim with for now? Once it's locked and peaked on the sat itself, you should be golden to switch in the Orby receiver.
     
    danristheman, KE4EST and cee like this.
  20. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,434
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I don't think that's a clamp. It looks more like a mount that insures that the LNB is always clocked the same as the dish.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...