New to C-Band Questions about HD

Status
Please reply by conversation.

tomatopi

Original poster
Sep 11, 2008
We're building a new home and decided to use BUD since I have a real problem paying for TV I don't watch. I've just managed to find a 10' mesh dish, GI receiver, and a bunch of "extras" in my area for $200 (not sure on model numbers, etc. yet).

I think I found a location for the dish in a clearing in our yard, though I want to mount it on a higher pole since we're surrounded by evergreens. Is there an "ideal" way to locate a dish on a site other than walking out with a compass and figuring out the sweep manually?

I was also curious about getting HD on C-Band. I know the Motorola HDD200 with the DSR922 give 4DTV HD which is what I'm looking for (my wife wants some of the nice HD subscription channels), but what about other HD? Do I just get an HD FTA receiver and split the signal? As a newbie, I wasn't sure if FTA HD receivers are made for C-Band, Ku-Band, or both.

Thanks

You may be disappointed with HD from your C-band dish. There are a few HD channels available for subscription (HBO east and west, STARZ and Showtime). The Nebraska Educational Television Network provides an HD feed which you will be able to receive.

I have a 4DTV receiver and HDD200 which I use very seldom. I also have an FTA receiver slaved (tied in with splitters) to the 4DTV. I select the satellite and polarity on the 4DTV and watch the programming from the FTA receiver. This programming is mostly network feeds and sports feeds.

My setup makes for a good hobby, but not for typical HDTV viewing. I know this is not politically correct here, but you may be better off with a minimun HD subscription to one of the pizza dish outfits.

Quite honestly I think the HD looks over compressed from the pizza dish companies.
They put the SD channel next to the HD to show you how much "better" the HD is