New to this

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

adam45356

Original poster
Sep 20, 2007
ok heres what i got i have always been interested in satellites and stuff like that i have been given a super dish it has the antenna things on the end can i get a fta receiver and set this up using this dish, and if so what receiver would you recommend

i am completely new at this stuff

Hi Adam.......start here http://www.satelliteguys.us/fta-mpeg2-faqs/ most specifically the "what can I get with an 18" dish or Dish 500 dish" thread. Go from there. Minimum size dish for FTA is
30", larger for some satellites. Oh, and the LNB on your super dish won't work for FTA, you'll need a linear LNB........Best advise, read........read..........oh, and when you've done reading, ask some questions. Then, likely you're gonna want to read some more. It's a fun hobby, but can be quite addictive once started.

also the dish i got is a 36inch wide so i can get a new lnb witch i take is the thing that some people call guns, ok like i sayed im cluless do you have any suggestions on what lnb i need and what receiver i should get, this sounds like a rely cool hobby

ideas

Click on some of the sponsors on the top of the page--many of them sell receivers and replacement-lnbfs. I would suggest a simple rec to begin with,
Fortec Mercury II is a popular one that doesnt have a big price tag. It has blind scan which is very handy (almost essential) to finding those unknown satellite feeds. What type of programming are you looking to watch?