New: Whole House Networking question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Jawbox

Original poster
Feb 22, 2006
So I'm completely new to DirectTV and I find that some of the online information glosses over the details of an install. I'm hoping there are a few people that can fill in the gaps.

Anyway, I have an install scheduled for next week. I ordered two HD DVRs, Whole Home DVR, and the Internet connection kit. I'm going to have one downstairs, one upstairs. My wired internet connection is available upstairs and I use Wireless-N through the rest of the house.

Do all the receivers need to have an internet connection in order to take advantage of all the connected features?

Are all the connections going to have to be hard wired?

(If I need to connect the downstairs DVR) Does an installer typically bring wireless bridges or powerline networking kits or should I be getting them in advance of the install.

Thanks, I know I'm rambling a bit.

The networking is done with the RG6 cables going to your receivers. If you want to download on-demand video and use the applications, then a DECA will need to be connected to your router. Since you order Whole Home DVR and Internet connection, you should be good to go.

These is the DECA adapter and it connects to your router.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.as...DECA--(DECA1MR01)&c=Satellite Components&sku=

So I'm completely new to DirectTV and I find that some of the online information glosses over the details of an install. I'm hoping there are a few people that can fill in the gaps.

Anyway, I have an install scheduled for next week. I ordered two HD DVRs, Whole Home DVR, and the Internet connection kit. I'm going to have one downstairs, one upstairs. My wired internet connection is available upstairs and I use Wireless-N through the rest of the house.

Do all the receivers need to have an internet connection in order to take advantage of all the connected features?