No HD Locals = Free Premium Chans

ka1z0ku

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 6, 2008
Chucktown,SC
Hey all, I've been an avid reader of this forum, this is my first time posting though. I just thought I'd include a little story of my recent tirade against E*. I had been calling them for 2 days in a row trying to raise a stink about the fact that I subscribe to an all-HD package (got grandfathered in to Turbo Platinum HD, with no price change, no complaint about that) but my local channels are still in SD.

Now, I fully realize that Champaign/Urbana/Decatur, IL is not exactly a high-priority area, but the local cable co. carries these locals in HD and even D* has them on their soon-to-be-added list. E* says they aren't going to carry them any time soon, and that they can't switch me to a different area's HD locals (one rep said it was possible but it was not authorized... go figure).

So the final time I called was last night, I got straight to the point that if they weren't going to satisfactorialy meet my demand for HD locals then they had better give me something to keep me as a customer, since I could easily switch to D* and have what I want within a couple weeks (yes, a partial bluff on my part). So they ended up giving me free HBO and Starz for 3 months (which I accepted knowing full well that they had just added quite a few HDs for these chans) and 12 months of Cinemax for a penny. The only downside is that I agreed to a 24month contract for the free chans, but I still had about 18 months on my current contract, so its nothing that concerns me too much.

Well, I've rambled on entirely too much. I guess the moral of the story is, if you are stuck waiting for HD locals like I am, go ahead and get some free HD premiums to make the wait a little easier.