osmio4k lost satellite data

Discussion in 'Linux/Enigma OS Support' started by johnnynobody, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I was watching a program and was going to switch satellites and found all other satellites were gone on all 4 images. Even the backups disappeared. I have OpenSPA up and running again and now i'll have to redo all the other image setups. At least I had the data backed up with DreamEdit so I don't have to rescan the sats. Anyone else experience this?
     
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,504
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Each image stores the satellite and logged service data independently. These files are not shared between images.

    Deleting satellite and/or service data from one image would not delete the satellite and/or service data from another image or from three separate images.
     
    comfortably_numb and primestar31 like this.
  3. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    Nevertheless, the data disappeared from all 4 images. When the satellite data disappeared from OpenSPA, I checked NATP, OpenDroid, and OpenPLi and the data was gone from them also along with the backup data on the USB drive.
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I don't believe it, not at random anyway. Especially the missing "backup data on the usb drive" also missing. I can see it happening from ONE image, but not all 4, along with backup data.

    Make sure you didn't leave a connection LIVE to DreamboxEdit or the like FTP software. Though that would MAYBE only be capable of causing data from a single image to vanish. Whichever one you are booted into.

    IF you are playing around with Network Neighborhood connections to the Mio, be exceptionally careful doing that. It's easy to nuke or accidentally move things around you didn't mean to. I did that myself, but it wasn't random. Except once again, it can only happen to whatever image is LIVE at that moment, not all of them.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  5. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    It did it again! What a piece of junk!
     
  6. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,504
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I am sure that there is an explanation. Let's figure out the cause. Not everything is a piece of junk.. :(

    Perform a new image install and do not restore. Performing a restore may reintroduce the same error.
     
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    User error, perhaps?
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    If it did, I go back on my theory he's likely keeping an open network connection to the receiver with DreamboxEdit, or some other FTP software or server connection, and somehow it's blowing away the satellites.xml file in /etc/enigma2 folder.

    Though since he's got me blocked, he'll never see my posts on it.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  9. Corrado

    Corrado SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Hudson Valley Region, NY
    I tried the openpli 7.1 release- osmio4k 20190701 multiboot to experiment with in an open slot. I wouldn't say it's a stable release in my receiver. The multiboot menu display no other slots and then crashes to a green screen full of error messages before it reboots. After a couple of tries it hangs at the boot screen. I reviewed the logs via telnet and the errors seemed to be caused by the Hauppauge HVR 950Q driver install.

    I like the TNAP image and use that anyway for my primary and openpli 7.0 as secondary. But of course I like to play also. I thought I would pass along the 7.1 release info for others.
     
    Titanium and primestar31 like this.
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    OpenVIX is a good one. In fact, it's the only image I use anymore.
     
  11. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    Made a backup image of openpli-7.1 release 20190622 updated online 20190701
    MEGA
    Has hauppauge 950q and 955q drivers preinstalled. Also preinstalled backup suite,dream-explorer,blind scan and YouTube.
    Only channels are radio on 103Ku but the Tuner configuration (lnb settings) needs set before they will play.
    Place the zipped file in downloaded_images folder and use flash image feature with openpli 7 or satdreamg6.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  12. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    New openpli7.1 backup.I fixed the multiboot issue with the openpli 7.1 release and udated image to 20190724
    MEGA
     
  13. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yeah, I'm not upgrading right now, for no real gain over what I already have. Firmware upgrades aren't something to EVER take lightly, (especially when it upgrades the Kernel) and I'm not having any issues with the present images that I'm taking any chances with for now.

    Just because these are called "images" with E2 and not "firmware", don't let that fool you. They ARE firmware upgrades, and should be checked out in their respective forums before upgrading.

    If there's nothing or little to gain, upgrading firmware isn't advised as SOP, IMO.
     
    mc6809e likes this.
  14. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    Over time divers are improved on by the manufacturer and Openpli only releases stable and tested images but sometimes mistakes get over looked in new releases. I been using 7.1rc then release for a few months. It's safe and I would have saw the multi boot issue with TNAP but I had been testing newer images so TNAP was not installed. The Boot loader firmware is usually where you can't downgrade. The kernel can be downgraded by going back to a previous image or full image backup. You might not see many improvements as far as just watching tv but the improvements are in the plugins mostly like virtual keyboard and blind scan and compatibility issues.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...