OTA Antenna Heigth vs. Coax length.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

MR2NR

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 23, 2009
In your Hotwheels BIN
I am a novice at this and have experimented a few times with OTA mainly analog though only three digital homes I have had to rewire from degrading 300ohm flat wire. I have lived here all my life (60 miles from the network transmitting towers I use) and am curious if using a very high tower to mount an antenna helps or degrades signal due to coax length. I am going to attack this job this summer and wanted some ideas. I have an older full size radio shack VHF/UHF antenna with the radioshack 75-300ohm converter and RG-6 Quad shield cable I plan on crimping myself for the least amount of coax. it's going straight into my 722K's OTA Modulator. I know that amplifiers are a double edged sword but since I'm not that close to other stations and it has shown to help with other peoples setups in my area I consider it an option for coax signal degradation but I am cheap so if I don't need it I won't buy it. I live in town with one or two trees in the line of fire but 20ft from the antenna mast. It's not very hilly. But there are hills that are higher than my antenna's ideal height halfway between us. I can get on average 43-50% signal with RCA's converter tuners at other houses but would like 75-80% for my installation if possible. The only piece of equipment I don't have is a tower which is the biggest reason for this posting. I can clear the house with a pole mast but would invest in a tri tower with a cement footing if it will be more beneficial than buying a new antenna.