Status
Please reply by conversation.

jesserulz233

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Feb 8, 2005
South Carolina
Okay I am new to the HD world so this may sound like a dumb question. What is a good, inexpensive, HD antenna? I work at my local Wal-mart and the price range goes from $15 to $30. How may db's do I need to get a good picture? Thanks.

You are always better off putting the antenna outside, if possible. If not, can you install it in an attic? Like the previous poster said, check www.antennaweb.org. They will give you a good idea what size antenna you need for your area.

Go outside or attic with an exterior antenna, I use a UHF from Radio Shack, $24, and pick up the tower from 50+ miles. I was able to only get a 75% CBS signal with the set top antennas. The exterior antenna is 98%+ on all networks.

Two I have had excellent experience with....

Okay I am new to the HD world so this may sound like a dumb question. What is a good, inexpensive, HD antenna? I work at my local Wal-mart and the price range goes from $15 to $30. How may db's do I need to get a good picture? Thanks.

include the ~$130 Winnegard Squareshooter if you are looking for a more permanent installation (outdoors) with the best chance of fixing on signals, and the ~$30 SILVER SENSOR (currently carried at Circuit City) if you want a more simple indoor antenna that does a good job of capturing signals with a minimum of fidgeting with the direction it's pointing.

It really depends on your landscape (flat, hilly, clear or tree-filled), and how far you are from the broadcast towers. I get a very good signal from an indoor rabbit-ear antenna b/c my house is on a mild rise, the area is generally flat, and I'm within 25 miles of most local towers. www.antennaweb.org is an excellent guide, it won't lead you to spend more than you need.