OTA Questions

RamenKing

Original poster
Nov 28, 2004
Hi all,

I have a few questions regarding to OTA networks. I am new to Voom and I need some recommendations.

1. When I scanned for my local channels, the receiver picked up 27 channels with signal strength of 91 or better. However, when I tried to view those channels, half of them reported No Signal. Out of the ones I can watch, many channels would consistency flip in and out of No Signal state every few minutes. I called my installer and he told me that 91 is really strong signal and I shouldn't have this problem. Any recommendation on what I can check?

2. I was never able to receive any OTA network on my TV upstairs. I was told by my installer that it is because I am using cable modem upstairs and the cable does not have enough bandwidth to carry satellite signal, cable modem signal and the OTA signal. This did not sound right to me. If the cable can carry cable modem and 120 channels of satellite signal, why would 27 OTA channels push it over the edge? Also, if I am exceeding the bandwidth, I would assume all 3 services to suffer at the same time. Afterall, the coax cable would not be able to pick which signal it wants to carry, right? Just wanted to double check my logic before I respond to my installer.

Thanks!

Everett

Welcome to the forum!

RamenKing said:
1. the receiver picked up 27 channels with signal strength of 91 or better. ... Out of the ones I can watch, many channels would consistency flip in and out of No Signal state every few minutes. I called my installer and he told me that 91 is really strong signal and I shouldn't have this problem. Any recommendation on what I can check?
91 is not bad for OTA, but the fact that they consistency flip in and out is definitely not good! ;) Could be some multi-pass interference, or something else. I would make the installer come over and troubleshoot it.