Pansat problems

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Steveinmd

Original poster
Oct 8, 2007
I have a number of Pansat receivers, 2700's, and a few have the same problem...it goes like this.

I program a frequency and symbol rate and get a very strong signal. When I hit ok to receive the channel, the two windows appear (TV & Radio) and the bar at the bottom starts to "search". The problem is that it continues to search and never locks the channel that I know I have. I know how it's supposed to operate, I have a number of receivers that work fine. but these few wont lock in the channel.

Any ideas??

Thanks

Steve

I'd check the firmware on the non-op units.
Maybe reflash 'em with a known-good factory basic.
And also, do a factory reset, too.

What version do they have now?

I guess I should explain that I am a professional Satellite downlink &uplink guy. I use the FTA receivers for commercial downlinks. It's a different freq and satellite everytime so all I need is a receiver to input the freq and sr. I have not and, to be honest, don't know about downloading any info into the receiver because I am not using them for and established programming like Dish or DTV. I have little knowledge concerning firmware or re-flash. I have already done a factory reset. These receivers act fine but will not lock the signal.

Thanks

more info

Wel, how old are they?
Did these units ever work right?
Or, did you inherit a bunch and it turns out, some just don't operate properly?
How many work okay, and how many fail?
Have the units ever been exposed to any trauma? (lost in a hurricane, perhaps?) :eek:

I do know that some receivers take a while to log a channel especially if the channel doesn't have a name for it.